Live PGA Tournament Action Starts This Week at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Kapalua

Pairings set for first PGA Tour event of 2011

Article from: The Maui News
KAPALUA – Two-time defending champion Geoff Ogilvy will be in the final pairing for next week’s Hyundai Tournament of Champions, along with Jim Furyk, this year’s FedEx Cup winner.
The groupings for the PGA Tour’s season-opening event at the Kapalua Plantation Course were announced Thursday, a week prior to the start of competition.

The first players to tee off will be Arjun Atwal and Rocco Mediate, at 10:20 a.m. Ogilvy and Furyk are to begin their rounds at 1 p.m.

Ogilvy won the event last year, when it was the SBS Championship, and the year before, when it was the Mercedes-Benz Championship.

Stuart Appleby, who won three consecutive Kapalua titles from 2004 to 2006, is in an 11 a.m. pairing with Jason Bohn.

The tournament is limited to PGA Tour winners from the previous season.

The 12:10 p.m. pairing has Hunter Mahan and U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell – two months ago in the Ryder Cup, McDowell defeated Mahan 3 and 1 to clinch Europe’s 14 1/2-13 1/2 victory over the U.S. at Celtic Manor in Wales.

With three exceptions, each player’s tee time corresponds to his final spot in the FedEx Cup standings – the lower the finish, the earlier the start. The players for whom that formula does not apply are Ogilvy and two players who compete primarily in Europe – McDowell and Francisco Molinari.

Matt Kuchar, the PGA Tour’s leading money-winner in 2010, is in the penultimate group, teeing off at 12:50 p.m. with Charley Hoffman. Ernie Els, whose 31-under-par score at Kapalua in 2003 set a tour record for a 72-hole tournament, is to tee off at 12:30 p.m. with Jason Day.

The field has 34 players. Five who were eligible are not competing, including three of last season’s major winners.

Masters champion Phil Mickelson has not played at Kapalua since 2001, despite being eligible in all but one year since. British Open winner Louis Oosthuizen and PGA Championship winner Martin Kaymer, as well as Rory McIlroy and Lee Westwood, are likely to play primarily European Tour events in 2011.

Hyundai Tournament of Champions



At Kapalua Plantation Course

10:20 a.m.-Arjun Atwal, Rocco Mediate

10:30 a.m.-Bill Lunde, Cameron Beckman

10:40 a.m.-Robert Garrigus, Matt Bettencourt

10:50 a.m.-Derek Lamely, Jonathan Byrd

11 a.m.-Stuart Appleby, Jason Bohn

11:10 a.m.-Anthony Kim, Heath Slocum

11:20 a.m.-Ian Poulter, Carl Pettersson

11:30 a.m.-Ben Crane, Bill Haas

11:40 a.m.-Ryan Palmer, Tim Clark

11:50 a.m.-Camilo Villegas, Bubba Watson

Noon-Adam Scott, Francisco Molinari

12:10 p.m.-Hunter Mahan, Graeme McDowell

12:20 p.m.-Justin Rose, Zach Johnson

12:30 p.m.-Jason Day, Ernie Els

12:40 p.m.-Dustin Johnson, Steve Stricker

12:50 p.m.-Matt Kuchar, Charley Hoffman

1 p.m.-Geoff Ogilvy, Jim Furyk